Public authorities are required to show that they have due regard to the aims of the Equality Act 2010, by demonstrating that they understand the impact of their policies and practices on people with protected characteristics. The protected characteristics defined in the Equalities Act are: 

  • Age 
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment 
  • Pregnancy and Maternity
  • Marriage and Civil Partnership
  • Race
  • Religion & belief
  • Sex (Gender)
  • Sexual Orientation